Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking at a swap Apache

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2015, 02:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking at a swap Apache

Hey guys I apologize in advance but I am a total newb to LS1's and swaps and long read.
I've been looking in the country of Panama for a muscle car to do an LS1 swap for about a year. I can't find one. A guy just put one up for sale so I'm going to go look at it. I've been considering importing a swapped car or a car and donor parts. Original thought was an iron block 6 liter and 4l80 from my limited reading.

It's a 1956 Apache with a claimed 2001 Corvette LS1. I did read the LS1 and LS6 were available that year in the C5.

He claims the suspension, engine, automatic trans, etc was swapped including the rear differential. The work was done in California.

I am a diesel mechanic and used to do gas before LS1's were in play. I am into the electronics and have my tuning software for my 800hp cummins that I built. I have no problem rebuilding but our machine shops are too limited for any real tasks.

The questions that immediately go through my head are,
1. Could the original engine computer be what he used and if so would you expect tuning software to have been used to lock out unused options after the swap to not interfere or cause a no start. Like key fob's, AC, traction control etc?

2. Does the corvette have 1 controller for both engine and transmission (auto)? If so can that be swapped or did he probably use a stand alone controller type of deal.

3. With all the running gear swapped is it possible he actually retained traction control?

4. In photo's it's Apache dash. What electronic clusters would be the best and can you get trouble codes and whatnot with any or?