Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cruise control activation with LED brake/tail lights

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2017, 12:04 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cruise control activation with LED brake/tail lights

I have been doing LSX conversions in old trucks for several years now, but just came up against something new. I put a DBW LQ4 in a 1966 Chevy C10 with LED brake/tail lights. They are the ones that have the circuit board built into them and not just a replacement led bulb that I can throw a load resistor in the ground. I of course had to upgrade to the led flashers to get them to blink, but my TAC module is not sensing a load through the lights ground to the brake switch and allowing the cruise to activate. I know there has to be an easy solution to this? My first thought is a resistor in this wire from the brake switch to the TAC, but I believe the PCM will throw a code for to low or high of voltage through this feed. I need someone to help me think this through, Thanks guys!
Old 04-08-2017, 11:14 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 194 Likes on 140 Posts

You can use a resistor, but they build a lot of heat. What I usually do is take a micro relay, and wire it from the cold side of the brake light switch to ground, on the 85 and 86 terminals. The coil part of the relay will have enough resistance to make the cruise work. If the clicking when you hit the brakes bothers you, you can take it apart and remove that part of the relay. Post 122 has a pic of what I did. https://ls1tech.com/forums/conversio...-c-10-a-7.html
Old 04-08-2017, 11:46 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 526 Likes on 356 Posts

^ genius!
Old 04-08-2017, 03:17 PM
Teching In

LS1nova71, I greatly appreciate it! Thank you so much. I will get one and try this. My brake switch is a bitch to get to. Can I just tap into the wire from it going to the TAC module you think or do I need to go right to the switch prong? It's pretty thin gauged wire I guess. May not take it huh?