Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS 1 type engine in a Late model Astro Van?

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2003 | 03:26 PM
Teching In

Default LS 1 type engine in a Late model Astro Van?

Has anyone put a LS1 in a late model Astro Van AWD? Need to stay Smog legal here in Kalifornia.
Old 10-12-2003 | 03:53 PM
Launching!

Default Re: LS 1 type engine in a Late model Astro Van?

They sure have, I dont remember the member's name offhand, but I believe you could find it if you were to search this forum.
Old 10-12-2003 | 07:22 PM
On The Tree

If you are in no hurry it can be done. I have been driving my 94 Astro AWD since Feb of 2002. Runs great. GM should install LS1's at the factory and they would sell a lot more. I started on Oct-9-2001. I can give you more details if you wish.

A 5.3 engine may be easier but it is also heavier. The major difference between a 94 and a 02 is the front clip which gives abit more room under the hood.
Old 10-12-2003 | 10:49 PM
Teching In

Thanks to both of you. I did see one Astro that had been done in this forum but it was the older style. The main difference is the smog equipment. The newer vans are obd2 and have a lot more smog stuff on them. Calif. smog laws are real picky and all have to be there and work like the donor. The engine has to be the same year or newer than the van. I have not had much luck finding mounts etc., older style is easy to find, or any info on making the obd2 all work off the new engine. One reason I thought of the 5.3 is that the LS1 is now only in the Vette and it is too wide with all of the accessories. Thanks in advance for any help.
Old 10-13-2003 | 09:40 AM
TECH Fanatic

ummm..don't you just have to put a 2002 in there? if so, they made plenty of LS1 F-bodies. You could also just get the accessories and drive from an F-Fody of Truck
Old 10-14-2003 | 10:52 AM
Teching In

On to the work, thanks for the ideas
Old 10-29-2003 | 12:57 PM
Teching In