Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Do LS1s have water pump issues?

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2015 | 12:17 PM
TECH Apprentice

Default Do LS1s have water pump issues?

I hate cars that over heat, hate them. When I put my Nova together the one thing that I wanted to make sure of is that it runs at a decent temp. It is a stock 1998 aluminum LS1 out of a Camaro SS with 40k on it. I bought the biggest aluminum radiator that would fit in the core support. I had an electric fan without a shroud, removed it, and replaced it with a shroud and another electric fan that seems powerful enough. I have a mechanical Stewart Warner gauge. It started out with the sensor in the rear of the driver’s side head but that scared the bejesus out of me! I had read that it is better to put the sensor in the boss on the water pump of an LS1 so I moved it. The readings aren’t as scary but it still seems to heat up. I have a 180 degree thermostat in it and the fan kicks on at about 195. If I am not moving it will get up to 225 in a hurry. I hate it!

I have wondered if the water pump might be weak since it will cool down if the engine is revved up. Now I am seeing 2 and 3 pass radiators and wonder if they work well. I just don't think it is the radiator but have to wonder about the pump since it does better just setting with some RPM. Do LS1s have issues with water pumps?
Old 03-27-2015 | 01:24 PM
10 Second Club

Your fan is probably the problem, followed by too small of a radiator. BTW, temp readings from the head is ok. That's where the PCM reads. Just remember there can be as much as a 10-15 degree difference between front/back or left/right. LS water pumps are great, so no worries there. What specific fan are you using?
Old 03-27-2015 | 03:15 PM
TECH Junkie
15 Year Member

What fan are you running. Factory ones pull over 30 amps and lots use 2 of them. Most generics are under 10 amps and wont pull enough air.