Sponsored by:

4.8 LY2 Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2016, 04:13 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4.8 LY2 Build Thread

Good Afternoon All,

I am starting this thread so I can keep track of my build on a 4.8 LY2 shortblock that i purchased off of Ebay. I purchased off of Ebay because it was easier than finding something closer to where I am located. I'm not saying that there wasn't anything here locally, because there was, but I like the idea of building from the ground up. As i said I purchased the shortblock off of Ebay and had it shipped here. I was kind of leary about it, but I took a chance. I was pleasantly surprised!! The shortblock looks like it was lightly used. Nice crosshatch on the cylinder walls. It came with the crank, mains, rear engine cover plate, cam, lifters, lifter trays, and timing chain. All look to be in great shape. Ok, on to the build. I am just getting started, and I welcome any and all advice for this build. So, i guess to start, I wanted a car to work on. My wife said "No". I understand where she is coming from, we have 3 boys varying in age (14, 11, and 3) and a baby girl due next month. We both have full time jobs, and we live in a townhouse with a 1 car garage. I am in the military and we move roughly every 3 years. Its easier to move 2 cars and the family than 3 cars and a family. I see the logic in her flat out saying "No" you cant get a car right now. (Side Note: she did say I could get one when a retire in a few years) She didn't say that I couldn't buy and engine for my retirement car project. So that's what i did. I have read tons of build threads, car magazine's, etc. on the LS platform. I knew that's what I wanted to get. I am not looking to build a race engine or anything crazy like that. I just want to build a descent engine that makes descent horsepower and torque. This will be a learning process as well. I do plan on changing the cam to something a little less lame than the factory cam. I've