Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

73 Nova 5.3 w/4l60e swap

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2017, 10:42 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 73 Nova 5.3 w/4l60e swap

UPDATE: 7/5/17 just got my heads back from the machine shop, got my stock 862 heads resurfaced, with a valve job new valve springs and seats and hot tanked now the engine is ready to be re assembled and droped into the engine bay this saturday! Pictures of the heads will be at the bottom!

Hello guys my name is mike, this is my first time posting on the forum. I have a 1973 Chevy Nova and recently I've decided that I want to do a ls swap for more of the obvious reasons why everyone else does them haha. Well so far things are going as planned but I also have some questions I was hoping to get some help on...also more of an obvious thing (most) people say when there doing a 5.3 or any ls swap, they always state that it is a "bugget swap" so yes of course my project is also running on low funds at the moment right now too haha. I got my hands on a used 2002 5.3 lm7 with 130k miles on it tore it down replacing the main gaskets, oil pan, rear main, head gaskets etc and the stock cam and pushrods with the ls6 cam and ls6 pushrods. Came with the ecu, harness and all for about $450, I have the 4l60e also with the stock torque converter.(will I need a new one since I have the ls6 cam?) Iv got the mounts and adapters, and most of my parts, now the question's I had before I continue are what kind of radiator could I use for the swap and also I want to go with an in line mounted fuel pump instead of a in-tank fuel pump about how much hose will I need to run all my fuel lines and what's the best pump to buy money wise and reliability wise?.. is it better to buy a new driveshafts rather than getting mine cut and balanced, and where can I find a set of long tune headers that wont give me clearance issue with the frame or steering column? Keep in mind this is a bugget build so I am looking for decent prices on