Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

does "Mr.Know-it-all" know this?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2006, 08:20 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default does "Mr.Know-it-all" know this?

The "Mr.Know-it-all" I am refering to is the PCM.
Does the Pcm of any given year LS1, log miles that were on the donor car? Just curious if I can tell how many actual miles are on my motor, and another that I am about to purchase.

ChrisP
Old 12-09-2006, 08:33 AM
TECH Resident

I don't believe so, but I'm not an expert.

I think the only piece of hardware in the car that records mileage is the gauge cluster (regardless of whether its mechanical or electronic).

But hopefully somebody who knows definitively will chime in....

'JustDreamin'
Old 12-09-2006, 12:25 PM
On The Tree

I tried to find that with EFI Live in myPCM, couldn't find it but that is no guarantie that it isn't there.

Could be as "JustDreamin" says, it could be stored in the Body controler that handles the instrumentation.

I did a CarFax on the VIN that the PCM had and found that it had 47000 miles on the last inspection. Just a clue on what had been going on with the engine.

Jan
Old 12-11-2006, 01:00 AM
TECH Enthusiast

that's why ypou buy the whole car
Old 12-11-2006, 05:25 AM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by jfman
that's why ypou buy the whole car

I was told by someone that the PCM logged the miles and, I didn't know if that was fact.
I'll try calling a dealer Monday morning, maybe my bud in the service dept can shed some light on this mystery.
ChrisP
Old 12-11-2006, 09:40 AM
TECH Regular

I bought an engine & drive train from a recycler, supposed to be a 00 T/A, I read the pcm, with efi live, to find, it was from an 02 camero convertable!! they may have just mixed up the computers, but i couldn't figure any way to check millage, I'm new at this, post on efi live or the pcm section and maybe some one would know.
Old 12-11-2006, 12:31 PM
TECH Enthusiast