Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What is the stock LS1 engine angle?

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2007, 08:32 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default What is the stock LS1 engine angle?

I am curious what the engine angle is of an LS1 engine sitting in a Camaro/Firebird, Corvette or GTO. Does someone out there have an angle finder they can put on a straight angle on the head or maybe on one of the pullies in the front of the engine?? The measurement would probably need to be done on a level surface (like in a garage) and should not be done on an engine or car that is half taken apart.

Thanks! -Dave
Old 01-10-2007, 07:29 PM
TECH Addict

Little help?
Old 01-10-2007, 08:33 PM
On The Tree

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

I'm no expert but it seems to me it doesn't matter all that much. You just want to match the pinion angle of your differential as far as I understand it. There's a lot of discussion about this around. I saw a good illustration on the Air Ride Technologies website in the air bar installation instructions. Hope this helps. Don
Old 01-10-2007, 10:41 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Dave

I recall quickly checking what the engine angle was, I recall it was about the same as when I measured the end of the trans for pinon angle. Just at a right angle to the reading.

update..
I just took a quick measured on the top of the valve cover rail, fuel rail, and along with the Trans output shaft and front pulley.
.. mine came to 3 deg... all around

Last edited by bczee; 01-10-2007 at 10:55 PM.
Old 01-11-2007, 08:27 AM
TECH Addict