Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1st Post-Bought LS1 Today

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2007 | 07:48 PM
Teching In

Default 1st Post-Bought LS1 Today

Just over from Corvette Forum. I purchased a LS1 (LS6 intake)/Automatic from a side wrecked 02' Camaro SS today. It comes with pretty much everything I think need to swap into my 76' Vette. I'm just learning about doing these conversions so I want to make sure I pick up everything I need when I pick up the engine tomorrow.
Here is my list so far:
ECU
Harness (how much harness shold I take?)
Dual Fans
Drive Shaft
Trans. Crossmember
Shifter

That's all I can think of. What else should I grab?????

TIA......Glenn P
Old 05-23-2007 | 07:59 PM
TECH Fanatic

Get all the harness! You want the driveshaft for the Yoke. Get the fans and radiator if you can, there are ways to make it work. The crossmember does you no good, but is nice to have while the trans is out as it helps to keep it from rolling. You want all of the accesories, including the air intake temperature sensor. There was another guy that got a mid year running with an LS1...
Old 05-23-2007 | 09:06 PM
TECH Resident

Make sure you get all of the emissions equipment! Don't want to upset Gov. Arnold!
Old 05-24-2007 | 08:33 AM
TECH Fanatic

Whoa, just noticed you are in Fallbrook. My wife grew up there, and I lived in Temecula after I got out of the Corps. Is CA up to 76 yet on emmisions exemptions yet?
Old 05-24-2007 | 09:08 AM
Teching In

The emissions stuff is what has me concerned. My 76 still needs smog inspections. I need to make sure I get EVERYTHING off the Camaro but I'm not sure what everything is. I've seen ads for motors with gas pedal, what the hell is that for? Are there any electrical components under the dash I may need? Where are all these relays located (fan, fuel pump, etc....).....GP
Old 05-24-2007 | 09:28 AM
TECH Fanatic