Convertible Vehicles Enthusiasts | Information | Maintenance

Write Up: Back Window Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2015, 03:25 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 39 Likes on 35 Posts
Default Write Up: Back Window Replacement

H'okay, sorry this took so long. Hopefully this won't be too long winded but we'll see.

Firstly, let me start by saying that when I did this, I have had no prior experience working in automotive upholstery. Everything I learned, I learned from a DVD that gave a detailed how-to on replacing the whole top. If you wanna know where to get it, PM me.

Tools needed:
10mm deep socket
Air ratchet/electric impact driver (a regular hand ratchet will do, but it gets rather tiring)
Phillips screw driver
Pneumatic Staple gun (I used a Porter Cable TS056 from Home Depot. Was around $50)
Stainless steel staples (I used arrow T50 3/8" staples)
Air Compressor (Mine was set to around 100psi)
Furniture pads/thick blankets
1/8" drill bit
1/8" rivet
rivet popper
A 6-10" block of wood
About 4-6 hours of time

Parts:
1 replacement window back piece. I got mine from topsonline for about 290. It's a Robbins top and comes with a lifetime warranty on the back window seal (Wish we woulda had that from the factory...)

So when I started, this is what my back window looked like:

Write Up: Back Window Replacement-kflseq0.jpg

Write Up: Back Window Replacement-xgdy84z.jpg

Pretty awful, right? Hooray for years of neglect from the previous owner....

Anyway, this is how to fix that!

Step 1:
First, fold down your rear seat and pop the trunk. There are two plastic pieces on either side of the trunk/deck area, attached to the bar that the back of the top attaches to. Remove these plastic pieces and the carpeted piece in the middle by popping the little plastic pins out. At the same time, on the left hand side of the trunk, go ahead and turn the little valve on the top pump, so you can move it manually. Unlatch the top, but don't raise it yet