Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Staging question

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2010, 09:48 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Staging question

I'm a noob when it comes to drag racing, but I'm interested in it and I want to learn. When cars are staged right before the tree goes green and they are revving and hitting what sounds like a rev-limiter, what is that? I know its not the rev limiter up high because it only sounds like the car is revving at 3000rpm's or so, but it sure sounds like a rev limiter! Could someone shed some light on this please?
Old 11-30-2010, 10:38 PM
Staging Lane

Mine sounds like that when using a Launch controller. You can set the upper RPM limit where you want to launch. When it is activated, I can push the gas pedal to the floor and it will only rev to what I have it set to. So it is a rev limiter...just not at the redline.
Old 11-30-2010, 10:41 PM
On The Tree

oh ok, yeah it definately sounded the same as a car hitting the rev limiter at the redline just at a much lower RPM.

So how do you turn the launch controller off when the light goes green? Is there a switch you flip? Also, if you're using a trans break does that use a switch that you flip when the light goes green as well? If so are the two normally wired into the same switch or very close by so you can flip them both at the same time?

Thanks for the answers!
Old 11-30-2010, 10:54 PM
Staging Lane

I have a manual trans and run mine off of a momentary switch on my shifter. I installed it a couple months ago and haven't ran it at the track yet. Some manual guys run it off of the one of the clutch pedal switches as well. Not sure how they set it up on the auto transmissions though.
Old 12-01-2010, 12:17 AM
Staging Lane