Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shock question

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2016, 09:47 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Shock question

I am looking to buy a set of shocks for my 99 Camaro. It's an auto procharged car. So my question is this.

Is a good quality SA Shock on front and back better than a cheaper DA or is the fact that a DA is always better?

Is DA actually needed on front and back or would a DA front and SA rear work well enough for an AUto car.
Here is what I am looking at

1. Strange SA front and rear
2. Viking DA front and smooth body DA rear
3. Strange DA front and SA rear
4. Viking DA front/rear coilovers

The 1st setup obviously is the best to fit in my budget. And had me thinking of buying the setup to help with finishing the rest of the car and then upgrading to Afcos once the budget allows.
Old 09-25-2016, 11:16 AM
TECH Addict

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Your option #1 is what I have...60's 1.46 in a full weight car.
I'm no expert but I've "heard" SA is sufficient for auto cars and DA for stick cars. SA's work for me.
Old 09-25-2016, 11:48 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 79 Likes on 70 Posts

My thinking is the front basically lifts, and needs control for that the most, the rear may lift or squat depending on setup, making the DA a better choice for the rear. I went with coil overs x4 because ride height was important to me for looks. Some people dont care about that though.
Old 09-25-2016, 07:00 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

In the rear you absolutely want the DA.
If you go with the SA in the front, you'll more than likely end up pissed off down the road that you didn't just get the DA right off the bat (ask me how I know) but they're not ESSENTIAL.

As far as the rear coil over thing the only real plus is the ride height adjustment. Best of luck.

Edit: Vikings are fantastic
Old 09-25-2016, 07:12 PM
10 Second Fun Car

Received 1 Like on 1 Post