Notices
Dyno Guesses & Bench Racing Forum Horsepower Estimates | Racing Scenarios

Guesses on track times....

 
Old 09-24-2018, 01:49 PM
  #21  
TECH Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Cal.
Posts: 9,782
Default

Maybe just being cautious? Yeah your guess is as good as mine.
G Atsma is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 02:07 PM
  #22  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Guess I can always ask him when I take it back in. I'm dying to get it back to the track though...winter is coming up fast dammit!
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 02:24 PM
  #23  
TECH Regular
 
Dimeomboost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Emory Texas currently
Posts: 473
Default

Nowadays tuners get bashed so much for shitty dyno tunes he either was playing it safe or isn't familiar with peak increase on a heads cam setup to know power band has changed and to let ya nuts hang and shift at 7200 like me.
Dimeomboost is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 02:52 PM
  #24  
TECH Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Cal.
Posts: 9,782
Default

Well, all that being said, get back to the tuner, raise the redline to 65-6600 RPM, and see what it does! That's it!
G Atsma is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 03:07 PM
  #25  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Gonna setup a day/time today to get it back to him. I can raise it myself but since he's doing a nitrous tune, I'll just have him set them.
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 03:37 PM
  #26  
TECH Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Cal.
Posts: 9,782
Default

I think the thing here is TOTAL COMMUNICATION. Tell him EVERYTHING that needs addressing. That way there are no surprises.
G Atsma is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 03:53 PM
  #27  
TECH Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
HCI2000SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Howell & Fenton MI
Posts: 11,158
Default

There's really no excuse here. Any modern tuner should know this basic stuff, and if he doesn't then he should state that he's not familiar with LS based engines. It sucks that you're already financially vested here, so I guess you can give him a chance to make it right, but you are not getting your money's worth here and that's simply not right
HCI2000SS is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 04:02 PM
  #28  
TECH Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Cal.
Posts: 9,782
Default

Originally Posted by HCI2000SS View Post
There's really no excuse here. Any modern tuner should know this basic stuff, and if he doesn't then he should state that he's not familiar with LS based engines. It sucks that you're already financially vested here, so I guess you can give him a chance to make it right, but you are not getting your money's worth here and that's simply not right
TOTALLY agree!
G Atsma is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 04:09 PM
  #29  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

He told me if there were any issues to bring it back and he'd fix them so this won't be a problem. So I need to have him raise the rev limiter to 6500 and the shift points to maybe 63/6400? Just wanna have everything you guys think I still need done beforehand. Thanks for all the suggestions!
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 04:17 PM
  #30  
TECH Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
HCI2000SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Howell & Fenton MI
Posts: 11,158
Default

See that's the thing....you shouldn't have to tell him how to tune it. Otherwise you should be the damn tuner lol. Any tuner worth their salt knows they have to run it through the paces, find the peak, where it drops, etc...There is no set rule here since every car is a tad different. He needs to find these points and set them correctly. That's his friggin job for god sakes lol. The rpm points you've listed are only a good general starting point
HCI2000SS is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 04:33 PM
  #31  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Yeah, no kidding. I should've learned how to tune it myself and just rented the dyno time from him. I'm gonna have him get it back on the dyno and have him set the shift points and limiter up.....right this time.
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 04:35 PM
  #32  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Question, if he gave me the dyno sheet with mph, would he have a copy of the same pull with rpm? I don't know if it saves both or not.
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 05:10 PM
  #33  
TECH Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
HCI2000SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Howell & Fenton MI
Posts: 11,158
Default

Originally Posted by Dano 00TA View Post
Question, if he gave me the dyno sheet with mph, would he have a copy of the same pull with rpm? I don't know if it saves both or not.
He should, but if not tell him you'd like one. I've had several different dyno tunes over the years and I've always received one. Never had to ask either
HCI2000SS is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 07:12 PM
  #34  
TECH Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Cal.
Posts: 9,782
Default

This is starting to prove the old adage, "If you want it done right, do it yourself". At least with HPTuners and EFILive the tools are available to do so
G Atsma is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 08:59 PM
  #35  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Yeah, I wish I would've learned to tune more than shift points and rev limits.
Dano 00TA is offline  
Old 09-24-2018, 09:01 PM
  #36  
TECH Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Dano 00TA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gary, In
Posts: 319
Default

Originally Posted by HCI2000SS View Post
He should, but if not tell him you'd like one. I've had several different dyno tunes over the years and I've always received one. Never had to ask either
Guess I worded that wrong, I did get a sheet but with MPH, not RPM
Dano 00TA is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: