Florida Members Fun, sun and LS1's

Landscape Maintenance Pro's?

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2014 | 10:10 AM
TECH Addict

Default Landscape Maintenance Pro's?

Maybe this isn't the right forum, but since I live in Florida: I'm curious what type of mowing equipment maintenance pro's use these days?

Short story: I have multiple grass types, a long water line, hundreds of trees, roughly 7acres to cut and my current RZ 5426(Husqvarna) simply isn't good enough, with it's cheesy thin blades and ultra-low tip speed. I've looked a bit... Kubota, Ariens(mid-commercial, not their standard junk), Grasshopper(I would prefer a front mount), even Husqy commercial.

When I did this for a living, it was easy... today, the choices of the 80's are basically gone and I just don't know which are the better machines for the money.

So if there are any lawn pro's out there, I'd appreciate your input. For that matter, if you happen to have a large yard and have experience with multiple mower types or simply are convinced in yours, chime in.
Old 08-03-2014 | 07:01 PM
Launching!

Exmark for floratam and Dixie choppers for Bahia. Sounds like you won't have much floratam though. Just my opinion.
Old 08-03-2014 | 08:58 PM
TECH Addict

I have basically all Florida versions of St. Augustine, Bahia, Buffalo and Zoysia... and weeds, of course.

Everyone seems to like the Chopper... but I've heard they use a drive system that apparently has trouble these days. Idonno... just hate to spend on that expensive thing and not have a top notch machine that will last.

The Exmark has been noted, but I haven't heard a thing about them lately. I've even looked into Gravely(real proud, they are). They were a high end machine in the 80's, so. I'd REALLY like to find a solid Ransomes Bobcat, but no luck yet. I actually have one, but a damned live oak fell on it and seriously smashed it.