Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

ls3 rear main seal backwards or normal for boost

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2011, 07:29 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default ls3 rear main seal backwards or normal for boost

My new engine is ls3 core. I read somewhere that some guys were reversing the rear main seals on think ls2s for boost as they had problems blowing out if installed normally.Now maybe this was old design or something.
So is just putting in rear main normal on my ls3 any problem.I think ls3 and ls2 use same rear cover????
Old 01-17-2011, 04:07 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year

DON'T DO IT!!!!!!! I'm new to the LSX familly of engines but I can say with confidence, "don't put the seal in backwards". Maybe the people who had the seal blow out had crank case pressure issues.

Last edited by Monte4ever; 01-17-2011 at 08:50 PM.
Old 02-02-2011, 11:51 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I would like to know this too as the later model seals are a reverse lip style, evidently installing them backwards fixes the issue.
Old 02-03-2011, 01:26 AM
TECH Addict

What? You should never have that much crankcase pressure to blow out the seal. If you have that much pressure, you have bigger issues than your seal popping out.
Old 02-03-2011, 02:30 AM
TECH Apprentice

'Im not concerned about them blowing out just weaping, every 2nd ls2/ls3 i put a cam in or tune has a weaping rear main-before it has had a tune of any sort. And they have good leak down numbers.

cheers
Old 02-03-2011, 06:53 AM
Launching!

boosted ls3 here no problems!!!
Old 02-03-2011, 07:22 AM
TECH Apprentice

I have a customer with tt ls3 no issues aswell, very random!
Old 02-03-2011, 07:39 AM
TECH Fanatic

those seals are specifically designed to work in one direction, ive no experience with trying it backwards but knowing the engineering behind it, id say use it how it is intended.
Old 02-03-2011, 07:49 AM
TECH Apprentice