Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

COT as a Meth Fail-Safe Opportunity

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2011, 12:35 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default COT as a Meth Fail-Safe Opportunity

I am already leaning out my AFR at ideal temps and have built a parabolic fuel adder in the PE IAT Adder table to add fuel in cold or hot swings to get back to a safe 11.5.

Now looking at COT and I know it is calculated and I can see where this could quickly be discounted for straight meth. But for a 50/50 mix where cooling is the primary consideration to avoid detonation, would COT be responsive enough to make it worth tweaking for consideration?
Old 02-28-2011, 12:44 PM
9 Second Club

really ive been looking for a way to do the same thing. but im not that good with hp tuners yet
Old 02-28-2011, 01:48 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I think your engine would be toast by the time COT kicked in.

What i was thinking of doing is fitting a flow switch before the meth jet and have it triggering the nitrous tables in EFILive (pull timing add fuel) when meth pump is running and there is no flow.....
Old 02-28-2011, 08:37 PM
On The Tree

Honestly burning up the engine was my first thought if I actually had to depend souly on it, but then I started thinking a little more about it (long drive to work unfortunately). If the meth is not there for a fuel issue, the COT threshold could be tuned right on the edge and the sensors involved with the calculations react fast enough, then whatever enrichment rate in the tune should happen as timely. Just seems like it MIGHT be feasible, but admittedly I am still skeptical.