Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

4.8TT/T in z32

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2015, 02:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4.8TT/T in z32

Hey fellas first post here.

I'm looking to go twin or single for my swap.

I want an aluminum block for weight savings.

I've done some research and found that the 4.8L would be better than the 5.3L. BUT! Is the 5.7-6.3 better for dollar to hp?

Hp goals are 700+ on pump 93
running 500hp in my other z32 and it feels slow (ish) .

Now what is required for this to be reliable?

The list
Drop in pistons and rods
Arp head studs and rod bolts
Saw somewhere ls9 headgaskets (why?)

Is there an off the shelf boost cam?
My research has told me that custom for each application is best but I would still like to know the opinion of the LS masses since I am a noob to this community.

What heads won't break the bank but will deliver power and efficiency?

I would like to have cylinder deac and variable valve timing. Can these be used with certain heads?

Considering using APS cast manifolds depending on what turbo/s is best for my application.

Finally what types of standalones can we use that are plug and play?
In the import world haltech and aem are the first to go to.
Old 04-17-2015, 07:32 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Forget the pistons and rods. 4.8l take a lot of beatings. A guy on here was making 918rwhp in his truck with turbo and spray. He also said he towed his boat with truck I believe. My 5.3l has 3k on it at 15psi (???rwhp) and I rip through gears all the time. Just get good head gaskets and head studs. Unless you want to rev real high or something silly. Also search denmah, he's got a ton of good info I used for my build
Old 04-17-2015, 11:00 AM

I saw, i'm waiting for a response from his thread.

space is of a premium in my application unfortunately.
Old 04-17-2015, 11:46 AM
8 Second Club

Received 770 Likes on 566 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year