Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

6.0 LQ9 with FItech EFI , wanting to add turbo....

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2015, 11:28 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 6.0 LQ9 with FItech EFI , wanting to add turbo....

Hello, Im very new to the world of turbos, and im doing as much research as i possibly can on the subject while i start buying parts. Im a TIG welder and fabricator by profession, so i want to tackle all the "work" of the installation on my own, im very confident on my ability to be able to handle this part of the project, but i am somewhat lost on a few other things, and im looking for some guidance.

I have a 6.0 LQ9 , with the FItech EFI Kit installed. PRC 215 13.5* CNC Heads, Custom EPS 226-230 598-600 111 +4 High Torque Cam, MSD 6010 and Performer RPM Intake. I have a Extreme Automatics 200-4r Stage1 , and 3200 RevMax 9.5" Lockup converter. Right now the car runs and drives great, and i have fun with it. I want to turbo the car, or possibly twin turbo the car, and im wondering what else i will need to upgrade for my fuel delivery, and motor build to handle the additional power.

And, on the topic of the additional power, im not looking for engine wrecking boost....yet, but i want to have fun with it, and learn for my first install and expereince with boost. I dont want to push the motor too hard and be needing to work on it constantly, i would like a reliable amount, but fun to mash the pedal, amount of boost. How much is too much for my motor internals, and what is the safe amount?

I plan to piece the kit together and make all my own headers for the job as well as all the hot and cold side piping.

I do appreciate all the help and info, and im very sorry if this is comes off as a dumbass post lol, but im just trying to learn.

Thanks

Here is the car in question!

Old 11-09-2015, 06:15 AM
TECH Addict