Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

The ultimate fbody transformation

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2017, 01:30 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The ultimate fbody transformation

Well idk about the ultimate, I don't really have the budget for that yet lol....but this should make for an interesting thread over the next few months.

You can can skip ahead if you wish to be spared the details.

a little about me.....I'm TJ, 27 from Altoona, PA

Im a field engineer for a small scientific instrumentation company here in state college. they have me traveling a lot, so I only ever get weekends and the occasional week home to work on the car, but I like to hit it hard.

The car is a 2000 Firebird.....v6 from a little town in NC called Etowah. I found it on Craigslist while I was away for work and staying the weekend to go down to watch the no mercy radial races.
I never got to the races because they immediately accepted my offer, and the next day I was driving it 500+ miles home. It has high miles and a replacement motor/trans but I'm gutting it and rebuilding from the ground up in hopes of seeing 8.9x or faster with it some day. The car is incredibly clean, rust free and solid. It drove great the whole way home and I almost felt bad when I parked it to start tearing it apart because I could've DD'd it all summer without a problem.

Heres the low down on where I'm headed with it.
I have a built TH400
I bought a JY LQ4 with 135k on it
Im currently fabbing together a solid 8.8

its a 05 LQ4 so it's got the 317's. I'm keeping the motor mostly stock other than a cam and valve springs, and possibly a trunion upgrade and new lifters.
Itll be microsquirt powered sloppy style
Gonna tack on an On3 7875 and I imagine now you see where I'm going.