Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

1968 Camaro with mild LS1, Terminator X and turbo log.

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2019, 09:19 PM
TECH Addict

Received 575 Likes on 357 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year
Default 1968 Camaro with mild LS1, Terminator X and turbo log.

Not sure if anyone has followed my build on pro-touring.com, (Penny Pincher Camaro) but I have been building my Camaro for the last 4 years and spend the last summer just driving it. I've always wanted to add a turbo to something and I'm starting to gather parts now to start my mission to boost.

So far I'm in the very early planning stage and step one is installing a Terminator X ECU. I've purchased a turbo log manifold from a local guy that didn't fit his project. It's a rough casting and I believe it's the ones you can find on eBay now for $279ish. I got it for next to nothing so I'll use it if I can. Anyway my plan as of now is to try and make the log work since I will be running a low mount AC compressor and won't be able to use a truck manifold easily.

I want to run the same driver's side shorty header I have now and run a 2.25" crossover to the passenger side log. It's a T4 flange and I'm looking at the vs racing 7875 next gen denmah kit and using what I can of the components that come with it.

I'm not looking to go crazy with boost but I'd like to run somewhere below 10 psi. My LS1 is a typical SBE with 799 heads, ls6 cam, ls6 intake and shorty headers. Runs good n/a but of course I want more. I also picked up a lq4 long block with 317 with heads and a set of LS3 heads. I've considered running that but not sure I want the weight penalty. I've also considering pulling the 317 heads off and running those instead of the 799s.