Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Educate me on Turbo's....

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2007, 01:57 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Educate me on Turbo's....

Ive always been a "nitrous guy", i suppose because its significantly cheaper than a good turbo setup, and im still a "poor college student". After seeing a few friends turbo setups (ABEASST on here specifically, and one our shop did) i am truly considering changing setups. Im new with the real technical turbo stuff, so i have a few questions.

My motor is a 347 forged and balanced (LS6 block and stock crank), stock(ish) compression, T-rex cam (242/248). th400, 5k stall, transbrake. suspension, etc.

I know my compression isnt ideal for a FI setup, so how much boost am i going to be able to safely run realistically? If i end up going turbo, the turbo is going to be big. Upwards of 80mm. The car is not a daily driver by any means (th400 w/ 3.73's), so Im not worried about gas mileage or any of that. its mainly a "weekend and track" car.

Am i more than likely going to need to lower the compression to make that kind of power safely? I would assume so, but like i said, I'm new to this FI stuff.

I realize i would also need to change the cam, what is an ideal(ish) cam size for a boosted setup? Single duration? split duration with more intake?

The car has 36lb injectors now, so to make the type of power I am looking at, what size am i going to need? What do you turbo guys run? Ill be looking for upwards of 750whp through a th400. im guessing in the 60lb range? bigger?

You guys who have had your kits built by smaller shops or single people, whats a good going rate for a good turbo kit? Id rather stay away from a "pre made" kit such as PTK for cost issues, as well as i would like thge kit built specifically for my car. There are a few people in the area i would consider have build the kit for me, but what would be a good LSx turbo kit price?