Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Meth options

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2007, 09:52 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Meth options

Ok guys, befor you are too hard on me, let me just say I am new to FI.

My question is: Is it posibel to us N2O to cool intake temps instead of using meth? Posibly a small dry shot? I have an 04 C5 that is soon to have an A&A prochager kit on it. My last set up was on a 98 Camero , basicaly boltons and N2O.

I know that nitrous and supercharged on a stock bottom wont last, but im not trying to gain power from the nitrous. I just have all the nitrous stuff still, and wondered if anyone has tried to use it in this type aplication befor?

Thanks,
LionelC-5
Old 04-18-2007, 10:01 AM
8 sec potential, 12 sec slip

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The problem with N2O is that it leans out the A/F ratio as opposed to meth which richens it up. If you have the fuel system to supplement it tho, it can work quite nicely. Just be careful...
Old 04-18-2007, 10:24 AM
TECH Fanatic

The way I understand it...

Nitrous increases peak cylinder pressures just like boost, therefore combining the two also compounds the detonation problem.

It will however, cool the intake charge tremendously. So a small shot, used properly, can work similarly to meth in the cooling aspect. So much so that Ive seen FI cars with a 50shot pick up 75hp.

But because they both increase power by raising peak cylinder pressures, you will need to retard timing and supply more fuel when using the N2O. Conversely, methanol cools the charge, does not increase cylinder pressures, adds octane, and slows the burn rate of the A/F mixture allowing the use of more timing and less fuel (gasoline)safely.

Another option that gets interesting is using methanol instead of gasoline as the fuel part of a wet shot... We can delve into that later.
Old 04-18-2007, 11:48 AM
7 Second Club

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts