Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

remote turbo setup?

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2007, 08:41 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default remote turbo setup?

i am starting to thinking about puting together a remote turbo set up.

keep my 1 3/8 LT new y pipe and run new exhuast pipeing to the back.
mount a t-78 or t-88 turbo then run the intake up though the back and though the car into a air to water cooler then thought the fire wall into a reverse mount t/b

i am aiming to build a low 9 sec car, but i am not sure if a rear mount would be able to make the power i need and a front mount would cost me too much money. if i cant make the power with this setup i will just stay with plan A lots and lots of nitrous

i am unclear about when size piping i should run, and what A/R i should use. i have never done anything with boost before i am new to all this. i have tried a search but i am still in the dark about the rear mount. almost everyone is asking questions about the rear mount as a street setup, i am looking for a race setup.
Old 10-16-2007, 01:24 PM
12 Second Club

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I can tell ya one thing. I run a T70 out back with a .68 AR. It still takes a while with LT's to spool, so I went with 01+ manifolds and stock Y. The difference in spool between a 76 trim vs my 70 is phenominal on similar setups (remote mount). Cold side I ran 2.5" pipes (same size as compressor on the turbo) and 3" hot with a 3.5" dump. Unless you're running big cubes, a T-88 out back just flat out isn't gonna work like you want it to. 76 trim is about as big as you'll wanna go with a stock cube in my honest opinion since I've experienced both. Even with a 2 step with that t-88 out back you'll have to have it stepping at like 5k to get it to even spool.
Old 10-16-2007, 01:27 PM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by phoenix
i am starting to thinking about puting together a remote turbo set up.