Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Blown 408?

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2008, 09:54 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Blown 408?

I have a 2000 WS6 NBM M6 and am trying to figure out the best way for 700 RWHP. I am new to Ls1 performance and am trying to figure a few things out. I have recently purchased a LQ9 block with the 317 heads from an 03 denali for $400 (good deal i thought?). I want to build a 408 with a DISC procharger. I already know what i am going to do for the driveline but have no idea what the best products for the motor are (crank, pistons, rods, etc.). I am definitely going to go with a D1SC from procharger since i can get them at distributor prices, I am just not sure what compression or cam specs would be best for my power goals (700 RWHP). I was also thinking about having patriot performance port the heads to their stage 3 specs. Any suggestions would be very helpful since i have no idea what would be the best combination. I also want the car to be streetable (pump gas), or as streetable as 700 RWHP can be! I have searched the site quite a bit and there seems to be a ton of people who know what they are talking about. And if anyone has a procharged 408 let me know would love to get some tips. Thank you in advance.
Old 05-02-2008, 10:32 AM
TECH Enthusiast

are you building it yourself? If not any sponsor would know what you need to get your goals.

Most FI guys prefer a 370 LQ9 block to keep the cylinder walls thicker and stronger, the stock crank is more than strong enough for 700WHP, alot of guys are using the compstar rods, and diamond, je, wiseco pistons is really kind of a prefference thing.

Patrick G could spec you a cam from thunder racing, i have talked with him through pms and seen a few post on turbo cams, he said a typical turbo cam he would spec for a 346 would be 224/230 113LSA +2 for a 370 or 408 it would be slightly larger and the lift would depend on springs and other variables