Fueling & Injection Fuel Pumps | Injectors | Rails | Regulators | Tanks

Fuel system for KB blown LS1 in '68 Camaro

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2006, 11:58 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel system for KB blown LS1 in '68 Camaro

Not sure if this should have been in the Hybrid or fuel section, but here it goes. I'm new to the LS1 thing and just bought a 2002 Trans Am LS1 and T56 to put in my '68 Camaro. I will be changing the heads and cam (prob. ported 6 liter or AFR heads and LS6 cam) and want to use the new Kenne Bell blower. I will be building a new fuel system since my last motor was carb'ed. I'm not sure what the best route is to go on this. I'm expecting 550 RWHP, so I need an adequate system to feed the motor. I don't want to go overboard, but I'd like to be able to step up the power in the future without major changes to the fuel system. Here are my ideas for the system. Please chime in if you have suggestions or ideas.
In-tank fuel pump (have not decided which one, possibly walbro 255?)
single feed line to front of car (-8?)
99+ Vette regulator mounted near tank
Kenne Bell Boost-a-pump

The blower uses a single inlet type fuel rail since it is designed for the Corvette. I have been trying to figure out how the stock vette system works, and how I will do something similar on my car. I don't see any kind of vacuum port on the regulator. How does the fuel pressure drop at idle speed? Is there a fuel pump module that controls this? Most cars I see have a vacuum port on the fuel fiter/regulator to adjust pressure based on engine vacuum. I have been thinking about this bacause I also will need a way to boost-reference fuel pressure. Is an aftermarket, boost-referenced return style regulator a better idea for my car? I know there are probably many different ways to do this, but I'd like to do it right the first time. Any info is appreciated. Thanks,
Andy
Old 05-24-2006, 10:42 AM
FormerVendor