Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

gear whine help

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2011, 03:30 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default gear whine help

Hey guys, I could use a bit of help here on a gear whine problem on an A4 2.73 geared car. I have done some reading and searching, which has made me consider other possibilities, but I am not experienced at troubleshooting this. I have a loud gear whine that started all of a sudden on a hard acceleration (this is bad, I know). I pulled the cover off the rear. Fluid was low. I saw no damage to ring gear teeth, or pinion as far as I could see with the carrier installed. No metal shavings/pieces in there. The first thing I thought of was that things got too hot and I warped things. But, the whine does not pulsate. I have never had pinion or wheel bearings go bad, so I am not sure quite what they sound like when bad. Could the axles themselves be damaged, with chipped/broken teeth? The whine is constant and gets louder and increases in pitch as speed increases. The whine is less noticeable under initial acceleration from a stand still, then whines at all speeds (proportionally). Thanks for any advice.
Old 04-13-2011, 04:27 PM
Launching!

so, I went out and drove the car again after putting the cover back on and adding lube, this time at higher speeds (~45mph). The noise is not anywhere near as pronounced as it was. Still a very noticeable whine. I drove it immediately after filling it yesterday, and after hearing a whine start at 20mph, I brought it straight home. I cannot tell any difference in turns. At times, the whining noise starts to cut out, like it wants to stop. It keeps going of course.
Old 04-13-2011, 04:35 PM
TECH Apprentice

sounds like you're in need of gears. if its during accel or decel it usually is the gears. if it was the bearing it should be at all times I would think.
Old 04-13-2011, 04:48 PM
Staging Lane