Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

How easy does keeping the stock gears make a full bearing job?

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2012, 02:05 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How easy does keeping the stock gears make a full bearing job?

I have rear-end noise which I think is just the wheel bearings but I'm a novice with rearends and I think there is another problem. I definitely have a slight whine at about 50-60 mph and the main growling/howling pitch starts at 20 mph and definitely changes when I'm on the throttle. Leading me to believe there are pinion bearing issues as well as maybe carrier bearing issues. I just wanna keep the same 3:23 gears I have in there and replace the wheel bearings, pinion and carrier bearings. Does this make the job easier? Can I use the same shims I took out and simplify the setup? Do the gears themselves other than obvious breakage wear out and start whining, therefore requiring replacement? I have the wheel bearings and seals but don't really want to waste all that time if it doesn't fix the problem.
Old 01-09-2012, 02:07 AM
On The Tree

I'll drop the diff cover tomorrow first I think and try to visually inspect the carrier bearings and look for any other trouble signs, I'll spin the ring and pinion gears and fully inspect them before I continue to take the axles out and all that. BTW anybody know what a shop would or should charge to just rebuild the rear end with NO gear swap?
Old 01-09-2012, 12:47 PM
TECH Resident