General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

Swap?

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2010, 05:45 PM
Banned Scammer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Swap?

Ok. im new to the swap. conversions. internals. its all very fuzzy to me. but my cousin is quite skilled with it and he has a nice garage at home that were could accomplish some stuff
but anyways. i have some lifter/pistons/rods/rod bearing problems. and i was just wonder what your thoughts were? should i rebuild my LS1 (86,XXX miles)
or puchase a different engine and go from there. By the end of summer i should have close to $7000...
so what you think? LQ4, LQ9, 402/408 stroker, new LS1/LS3/LS6/LS7, or rebuild my LS1 now?
i have Kooks LTs for my LS1.. and id like to keep them... so...
opinions? thoughts? suggestions?
Old 12-13-2010, 06:16 PM
On The Tree

I would keep your ls1 and just rebuild the valvetrain, rotating assembly, etc. for these reasons

1. very likely that it will be way cheaper to rebuild than buy new lsx

2. you already have the headers for the engine and will have plenty of money for engine mods (id go for a good h/c/i set up- minding supporting mods and suspension)

ps. sounds like you want more power and you can squeeze more power out of the rebuilt ls1 for cheaper than starting with new engine
Old 12-13-2010, 08:33 PM
12 Second Club

Originally Posted by cure07
I would keep your ls1 and just rebuild the valvetrain, rotating assembly, etc. for these reasons

1. very likely that it will be way cheaper to rebuild than buy new lsx

2. you already have the headers for the engine and will have plenty of money for engine mods (id go for a good h/c/i set up- minding supporting mods and suspension)

ps. sounds like you want more power and you can squeeze more power out of the rebuilt ls1 for cheaper than starting with new engine
I disagree with this...