General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

What would you do?

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2015, 01:23 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 33 Likes on 29 Posts

Default What would you do?

Okay. Ive been into F-Body's since I graduated H.S. and I'm not posting this to rant but I guess its just time to be honest... ...my car is falling apart. Realistically its long been due, the car itself is 16 years old..thats coming of age of a teen graduating high school. Its been through hell aswell. My original intention was to buy it and fix it... but its becoming more fixing than driving at this point.

Here's whats happened and whats been replaced to date:

At purchase: A/C Compressor / EGR Valve - Dealership repaired.

June 2014: New Transmission Mount - $15 from Napa. - $75 to install it.

July 2014: Repair turn signals - Electric Flasher - $20 | Drill $100 (had to modify the lenses) LED's - $10

October: Alternator - $135

November: Steering Rack - $500 - which also led to additional damage due to the shop breaking the exciter wire on my alternator which costed another $500 in repairs.

February: Water Pump - $200 (Pump plus coolant) . All Idler Pulleys: $65, Gatorback Belts: $55 - First pump was defective, had to take it off and reinstall a new one.

March: New Radiator - $135, Alternator (again) $75 to upgrade as the one I installed October died, Power Steering Pump $375 (old one was leaking, went with Turn One), Braided Power Steering Lines: $160, Misc new hoses: $50, Transmission Cooler: $75

The parts above I purchased between March and April but I only installed them a week ago.