General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

Time to warm up?

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2006, 06:31 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Time to warm up?

So now we're getting into the cold weather and there is frost on my car in the morning when I leave for work. Since I didn't have an ice scraper the past few days, I had to let my car warm up for like 7-10 minutes before the air it was blowing wasn't cold anymore. I know this is not normal. Today I just sprayed some washer fluid on the windshield and got most of the ice off that way just so I could drive to work. By the time I get to work, the air is hot and works great to get the rest of the ice off.

Should I flush the coolant and put fresh stuff in? The car has almost 57k on it so I can see it coming time to do it but I've never done it before. I have a feeling the coolant is the culprit although it *should* be Dexcool and that's supposed to last a hundred billion miles or whatever GM made up.

What do you guys think? Does it take your cars long to warm up in the morning?

How do I go about flushing the coolant? I didn't buy a tech book on the car yet. I've been meaning to.

Thanks.
Old 10-16-2006, 09:14 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

its not a bad idea for people up north to flush the system before winter....guys i know do it, just another thing to get under the car for

usually a good "warm up" is just letting the car come back to idle for a bit, put it into gear, let it sit for a few seconds and then just keep it under 2k rpms until it warms up
Old 10-16-2006, 09:40 PM
TECH Resident

Originally Posted by Kalgorn
So now we're getting into the cold weather and there is frost on my car in the morning when I leave for work. Since I didn't have an ice scraper the past few days, I had to let my car warm up for like 7-10 minutes before the air it was blowing wasn't cold anymore. I know this is not normal.

Thanks.