General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

Okay, 7k to spend, looking for opinions

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2007, 10:38 AM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Okay, 7k to spend, looking for opinions

Current daily driver is a 95 Caprice SS 9c1 (LT1), extremely close to stock. I've got a 68 dodge I'm restoring in the garage, and both an ATV and an 80's chevy 1 ton dump I use (and always have to fix) for plowing. Turning wrenches on those three leaves me thinking that I really don't want to work on the daily, I just want to buy one car that's decent and works. I sought out the Caprice because i had about 7k to spend last time, and I love the car to death, so it won't get sold, it will become the next project after the Dodge and it will sit at my house in storage, away from the road salt, until that time.

With 4 years on that car and 3 other things to wrench on, (I am a mechanic and do prefer American, V8, rear drive vehicles) I think it's time for a new DD, and I damn near got my heart set on an LS1/M6 car.

I want a trans am, real bad. Want the t-tops or convert, 6 speed tranny and the v8. No matter how I cut it, that car will be more fun to drive, get better mileage, have open air and go quicker than my caprice, while ultimately costing less to achieve those things. I generally do not drive the daily car in the winter, as when they're treating the roads, I'm out there with them in my truck.

With 7k to spend, I am expecting the car to pretty much work, after some small initial "fix er up" investment, for about 3-4 years. In that time my caprice has carried me 60k miles and needed less than 400 bucks in stuff other than gas and oil changes.

My Question is, can I get roughly the same out of an F-body? Would it be stupid of me to also consider an old Corvette for that kind of money? And at this spending point, Ive seen LS1 cars, but should I forget that and try to get a nicer LT1?