General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

Title and Registration Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2007, 04:48 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Title and Registration Question

I have been a NY resident all my life. In August, I started college in Florida. While in Florida I picked up a trans am and registered it with the state of florida. Well, i didnt like school in Florida so I'm transferring to a community college back in NY. I am currently in NY as of right now and dont plan on going back to Florida in the near future.

The registration on my trans am expires in about 2 weeks. I plan on registering my car with NY before then. Now my question is: What steps do I take to unregister my car with Florida and am i required to unregister my car with florida before i register with ny?
Old 12-22-2007, 05:43 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Just go to the NY DMV with your title registration information from Florida and register the car in NY. I did the same with the registration from WI, when I brought it to CA.
Old 12-22-2007, 06:04 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I live in Ohio and bought a truck from out of the state. I had to take the car to the DMV and they had to inspect the truck before they would give me an Ohio title.
Old 12-22-2007, 06:29 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 517 Likes on 373 Posts

You don't have to do anything with FL. The registration will just expire. Everything will be NY related for you. I moved to NC from FL and everything was NC related with nothing to do from FL. Just hang your FL tag on your garage wall.
Old 12-22-2007, 06:49 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 56 Likes on 45 Posts