General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Fluids?

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2010, 03:06 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fluids?

Hey guys, i got my trans am 3 months and 3.5k miles ago. I changed the oil/filter/plugs/wires/fuel filter/tranny flush/diff fluids, when i bought it. Im gonna change the oil now again and i was wondering what brands of engine coolant/radiator fluid/brake fluid etc etc you think i should consider changing? The car has 99k on it. My DD. Previous owners didnt take care of it..judging from the stock plugs at 95k..And any other maintenance things you guys can think of? I am a novice so please forgive me if i make a mistake. But im willin' to learn! And i have a haynes manual..i was considering helms..but idk. Anyways. Thanks in advance for all your input. Much appreciated..

-Drew
Old 06-13-2010, 03:58 PM
TECH Addict

For coolant, stick with Dex. Brake fluid, any Dot 3 will do fine.
Old 06-13-2010, 04:42 PM
Teching In

Thanks fleet
Old 06-14-2010, 11:30 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I would never use DEX !! flush that shiit out and use green stuff !!.
Old 06-14-2010, 11:45 PM
TECH Resident

Yea go with the green stuff. Just make sure you get all the dex out or it will be a mess.
Old 06-15-2010, 12:40 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You're doing a good job so far. Also, just because it had the original plugs at 95K doesn't mean it was neglected. Those AC Delco platinums can easily go 100K miles without a hiccup.
Old 06-15-2010, 01:56 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I dont beleive 100K miles plug ! I dont care what factory of the plug say. 50k is max for me, 30k on ngk TR55 or TR5 plug sound about perfect.
Old 06-15-2010, 05:49 AM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by killagt
I would never use DEX !! flush that shiit out and use green stuff !!.
Originally Posted by Choppers