Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

low intake

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2012, 07:41 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default low intake

I'm putting a 2003 LQ9 engine in my 66 mustang, I will need the lowest setting intake manifold I can Get , what should I be looking for ? Would like to keep cost down if possible, and I don't have a choice but I hate to give up any H.P. if I don't have to, any and all suggestions welcome.
Vern
Old 08-01-2012, 07:58 PM
Launching!

i think an LS6 intake would be your best bet....you could use an LS1 intake but you will give up some power compared to the truck intake. this is not confirmed with personal experience but i have read it a few times on here
Old 08-01-2012, 08:27 PM
Teching In

Well I'm new to LS engines so be kind to me, but when you say, LS6, isn't my LQ9 considered a LS6 ? I assume your talking about a corvette, GTO type LS6 ? being a car type intake will be lower profile then a truck SUV type correct ?
and if so, any particular year ?
thanks
Vern
Old 08-01-2012, 08:29 PM
Launching!

im new and learning as well...LOL im not too welcome among mustang forums since i am putting an LS in my foxbody

but yes, a C5 Z06 intake is what im referring to...im sure there are others

Originally Posted by vernlee
Well I'm new to LS engines so be kind to me, but when you say, LS6, isn't my LQ9 considered a LS6 ? I assume your talking about a corvette, GTO type LS6 ? being a car type intake will be lower profile then a truck SUV type correct ?
and if so, any particular year ?
thanks
Vern
Old 08-01-2012, 08:59 PM
On The Tree