Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

another ?, intake removal

Old 03-14-2017, 08:17 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default another ?, intake removal

when you remove the intake after all the bolts are removed (except the back 4 of course), do you lift up as high as you can and then pull forward about 6 inches or so (to get the MAP sensor and small vacuum hose removed) I'm pretty sure since this is my first time removing the intake, I'm going to break the OPSU. Also upon reinstalling, maybe have the OPSU socket on the sensor to help prevent breaking the sensor until I get the routing of the brake booster hose in place.
Old 03-14-2017, 08:40 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yes, you do lift the intake and pull it forward to remove the lines in the rear. I don't think there is much danger of damaging the OPSU if you're careful. It's actually well behind the intake and out of harms way. Just take it slow and try not to bump things when working. Reinstall it the same way. Once the hoses and connections are back in place, set it back into position and bolt it down.
Old 03-15-2017, 08:19 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

I just removed my LS6 intake and replaced it with a FAST intake, and it was my first time removing the intake. It really wasn't too bad. You are correct in that you will need to lift up and pull the intake forward in order to reach the MAP sensor and vacuum hose. I didn't even realize there was good chance of breaking the OPSU until after I had already done the swap. I guess I got lucky and didn't break mine because when I started the car up after the swap, my oil pressure gauge is working like a champ.