Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Novice Gen3 LS engine question (starter, a/c compressor)

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2017, 12:07 PM
Banned

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Novice Gen3 LS engine question (starter, a/c compressor)

Hello I am new to LS platform, couple of novice questions
Engine is OEM 5.3L with F-body accessories

1. I noted my F-body starter is falling apart on the inside. The lugs that hold the wires are literally twisting around inside the solenoid. Is this a common F-body (98-02) starter issue, should I install a next Fbody starter, or 'upgrade' to a new unit from ebay, or other recommendation? asking because I read about some people having issue with the flexplate on various starters, I just want to avoid flexplate hanging/grinding issues when changing it. Also the block breaks sometimes. I am using both long bolts.

2. Right now I am using Fbody accessory stock location. I want to try relocation brackets to avoid having to drill the next block for the alternator. Please, recommend a relocation system you have experience which moves the alt/PS both perhaps more center to the engine, or even over to the passenger side somehow.

3. A/C compressors all seem to fit on the passenger side. My turbo is in the way there. So I am curious, before I start trying to make any old random compressor work and fab bracket for it on the driver side, if anybody has any other ideas (knows about a compressor setup that might work in a tight space)

I have other dumb questions but this is enough to be fun for the day
Old 09-17-2017, 03:01 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3,022 Likes on 2,353 Posts

Do you have enough room for the truck setup? Then no need to drill....
Old 09-17-2017, 03:47 PM
Banned

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts