Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

melling 10296 without shims making it fit, the $150 experiment

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2010, 12:16 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Default melling 10296 without shims making it fit, the $150 experiment

Well, I want to post this because I seen nothing like it in all my searches on making the melling fit with a double roller. I bought the pump and put it on with the shims, clearance behind the pump was great, alot of room actually, I have a rollmaster cahin. So I thought since there was alot of clearance with the shims what would it be like without the shims, It was close to mounting So I figured that I would try to remove a little to see what it would take to make it fit, after about 8 times of spraying the back of the pump with dykem, and then mounting the pump, turning the engine over, removing the pump and grinding where the rubbing was I had the pump bolted up to the engine with out the shims, actually fit. I decided to to push the chain toward the pump a little with a smooth bent punch I had, and turn the motor over to simulate chain movement. I removed the pump once again, and grinded the little area where the chain rubbed. I put the pump back on the motor and had plenty of clearance behind the pump could see between every area. I was thinking cool, it worked.