Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam Install: Required Items?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2012, 12:58 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Cool Cam Install: Required Items?

Hey guys, I know this may sound stupid but I'm trying to gain a better knowledge into going about an aftermarket cam install. My birthday is coming and I'm really looking to buy a VRX4 cam from Vengeance Racing. However, I have never done one of these on an LS1 car before, so I want to make sure I have all the components needed for the install. I have added to my list a high flow SLP oil pump and double roller timing chain, new Comp Hardened pushrods, titanium retainers, and an ARP crank bolt. Considering the car has a factory set of heads, do I need to replace any of the other elements inside them? What else am I missing that I need to buy to do this right? Any and all help is appreciated. All going in to a factory 2001 LS1 in my 01 WS6.
Old 04-28-2012, 01:11 PM
TECH Fanatic

Comp Tru Union Upgrade
Replacement Lifters
LS2 Lifter Trays (Depending on lifter choice)
Timing Chain
Valve Springs

Might be forgetting a few things...

Last edited by Rare96LT1Formula; 03-21-2014 at 06:07 PM.
Old 04-28-2012, 01:27 PM
Launching!

i would suggest up graded springs whats the lift on the cam? while your in their get a new front cover gasket and front main seal. if your looking to keep on the cheap side if the lifters are good wouldnt worry about that or the trays, i would recomend the trunion up grades from comp cam fairly cheap and you can do it yourself their is a video on how to do it on you tube, need to get a comp cam pushrod checker so when you install you can order the right pushrod legnth other than that make sure you have enough $$ to get a tune
Old 04-28-2012, 01:45 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post