Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rectangle or Oval oem heads

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2012, 04:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rectangle or Oval oem heads

I am a newbie here so dont yell at me to much if this is a dead horse type question. so on to the questions........

We are going to rebuild our old 81 Chevy again. We hook to a sled with it so might not be the same as what a lot of you guys do. here are some of the rules we have to abide by.

473 ci limit
cast iron oem heads only
Oem blocks
114 octane is max fuel
1 carb, can be choke-less(dominators allowed)
no tunnel ram intakes, aluminum or cast iron
Roller cams are allowed
unlimited rpm

Here is the question. i have 2 sets of heads. A set of closed chamber rectangle ports and a set of open chamber large oval ports. (both are factory)We haven't bought our intake yet or decided what cam profile to run yet either. We would like to be in the RPM range around the 7,000 + for momentum and wheel speed when the pan drops. we are looking for about 12:1 comp also.

I am trying to decide which heads to use. We have run the rectangle ports before and made some good power with them. but i haven't run the ovals on anything before so didn't know which would work better. I was told the rectangles make better power in high rpm but the closed chambers are not as good as open chambers. I dont have the casting #s on me right now but i can post them later if need be. if ya need more info just ask.
Old 07-23-2012, 04:49 PM
On The Tree