Sponsored by:

Temp gauge causing issues

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2012, 08:46 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Temp gauge causing issues

Hey guys,
New guy here, first of all i'm new to cars (always had a truck) and having fun with my 01 SS. The issue I was hoping to get some help with was that my temp gauge keeps dropping. It happens at random times, but it seems like it happens more frequently when I am cruising down the interstate. When this happens at a stop, the car will occasionally die. If its at 0 and I come to a stop, the car feels like its pushing through the breaks. When I am driving and the gauge goes to 0, it feels like I lose power and will even downshift on occasion. Since this started, I have changed all 4 02 sensors, new MAF, new temp sending unit, and got a new pcm with a tune from frost. Car also has new wires and spark plugs. I would really appreciate some help as this one is driving me crazy. Thanks

PS When cruising, a hard throttle will often fix it for a little while

Last edited by Camar01SS; 08-06-2012 at 09:06 PM.
Old 08-06-2012, 09:10 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Have you replaced the collar temp sensor on the driver side cylinder head?
Old 08-06-2012, 09:11 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Never mind. Sorry I missed it.
Old 08-06-2012, 09:36 PM
TECH Resident

This is a total guess, but bad temp reading is not gonna make you car die, I don't think. Could you have a bad ground on that leg of the harness? I believe there are three, they bolt to the back of the head, drivers in this case. 15mm bolts, a stubby gear wrench is your friend for these.
Old 08-06-2012, 11:03 PM
LSxGuy widda 9sec Mustang

On 1999-2002 F-bodies, the coolant temp gauge is an output from the ECM. So if the temp gauge drops and the car runs like crap at the same time, I would have to think that the ECM is reading that the temperature has dropped too.