Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tsunami or MS4?

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2013, 10:16 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tsunami or MS4?

Have a 2002 trans am M6 w/ 4.10s and its time for new valve springs and lifters. Full bolt on car with ported 243 heads and currently 228R texas speed cam. I'm wanting to go bigger on the cam because its not my daily driver anymore. It is still a street car with vacuum brakes and a/c so I'm trying to hear from some guys running similar setups their input. I have it ready to pull the heads tomorrow at lunch and I'm going to check my valve size and cc the chambers because these heads were on it when I got it and I'm not really sure how they stand. I can only see mill marks in the intake runners for now. I'm trying to choose between texas speed tsunami or MS4. Thanks in advance!
Old 06-18-2013, 10:30 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I have been running the tsunami for a couple years now. it is a very aggressive cam, sounds very good, drivability is not the best but car is not my daily so I don't mind. car does die sometimes, especially in the morning(*if the ac is on to it will not stay running, that's is only on cold motor tho) I also have ported 243 heads. my car made 427rwhp on a mustang dyno and I have ran a best of 12.1@116 at the track. the car is capable of 11s easily, but im using stock clutch and it sticks to the floor every run and that hurts my times pretty bad. both cams have high lift, the ms4 has a little more duration on both sides. what I am gonna do is pick up some afer 210-215cc heads and have a cam custom speced by someone that knows what those heads like. if i were u id go custom grind as well. that way you should make more power than u ever could with a shelf cam, neither the tsunami or MS4 is built specifically for those heads. anyway good luck on whatever you choose, the tsunami seems to be an allright cam.
Old 06-18-2013, 10:45 PM
Teching In