Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New guy here, need help

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2014, 08:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy here, need help

Alright so to start off I have some working experience with cars like changing fuel filters, changing spark plugs and small maintenance stuff like that but on a Ford. I've tried to read up and watch videos but that can only help so much, I still have questions. So the problem is I want to buy a good condition third generation Camaro and swap an LS1+T56 transmission into there but I don't really know where to start. What do I do once I get my car and engine+transmission, do I begin to disassemble all the wiring, cooling, exhaust from the engine and then take it out and put the new engine in and connect it all back together? How about conversion kits, don't I need those? What kind of tools do I need for this job?
Old 07-16-2014, 09:16 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by moe747
Alright so to start off I have some working experience with cars like changing fuel filters, changing spark plugs and small maintenance stuff like that but on a Ford. I've tried to read up and watch videos but that can only help so much, I still have questions. So the problem is I want to buy a good condition third generation Camaro and swap an LS1+T56 transmission into there but I don't really know where to start. What do I do once I get my car and engine+transmission, do I begin to disassemble all the wiring, cooling, exhaust from the engine and then take it out and put the new engine in and connect it all back together? How about conversion kits, don't I need those? What kind of tools do I need for this job?