Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help...missing hp

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2017, 01:30 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help...missing hp

Yes, I am a bit of noob. My last high performance car was a 69 GTO Judge that I owned way back in the '80's. But here goes. I was hoping someone might have a clue as to why I'm missing about 30 hp by all accounts.
My 04 V sedan had long tube headers, 3" duals, and a K&N cold air intake installed. I took it to a tuner (Doc at EFI Alchemy in Green Cove Springs, FL...great LS rep) and when tuned it dyno'd at 374. I wanted to to go over 400, but stay below 450 until I could address the apparently questionable rear diff in these cars.
I spoke to GP Tuning about my hp desires and they hooked me up with a cam (intake .616/227 exhaust .616/234) and the associated BTR cam kit (platinum LS springs, titanium retainers, one piece chromoly push rods, etc). My tuner did the install and also added a trunion kit, GM high performance wire set, copper plugs (so he could gap them he said), Hypertech 180 thermostat, high volume oil pump, larger oil filter, new fuel filter and I had the clutch upgraded to the LS7. When tuned it dyno'd at 394 (93 octane gas). Only a 20 hp gain I've spoken to GP Tuning and was insured I got the right cam that should dyno (with a healthy engine and the other add-ons) at about 425. My tuner agrees that the car should be in the 425 range as well. My tuner mentioned low compression could be an issue, so I had that checked and the dry numbers are as follows;#1 225 #2 220 #3 220 #4 220 #5 223 #6 210 #7 220 #8 215. From my forum searches they seem a little high, but they are fairly consistent.
I'm sure it's near impossible to diagnose in the forums, but any thoughts/ideas would be appreciated. I'm taking the car to a Chin Track Days event at Sebring at the end of March (I CAN NOT FLIPPIN' WAIT!!!) and would like the hp Thanks in advance anybody/everybody!
Old 02-10-2017, 01:47 PM
11 Second Club