Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam specs for a 5.3

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2022, 11:10 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam specs for a 5.3

I’m currently doing my first engine build for a swap. Motor is a 5.3 LM7 going into a 944. 862 heads, and I plan on boring it out to 3.898
My question is, what cam specs would be best for my application? Looking for a more linear power band with good top end power, and I’d like to get the most out of the cam since i’m sticking with NA. Any tips and advice are appreciated since i’m new to engine building
Old 11-25-2022, 09:31 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 667 Likes on 462 Posts

Look at something from about 216 up to the low-mid 220s of intake duration, not too much more exh duration than the int (small or no split), and as much lift as your springs are comfortable with. For a light car like that you can use a relatively tight LSA like 110 - 112°. Should be able to use up to maybe .580" of lift with PAC1218 or similar springs. The smaller motor and smaller int valves will limit the usefulness of maxing out the lift esp with as-cast ports.
Old 11-25-2022, 09:33 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1,444 Likes on 1,002 Posts

We need a more information about your planned 944 goals before making suggestions.

How do you want to used the car: race, drift, drag, weekend, daily driver etc? What rpm range do you want the power? Rear gear ration? Tire size? Transmission? What sort of intake manifold, exhaust system, cylinder head work will you do etc?

Lot of details but helps with better suggestions.

To kick of discussion off will toss two possible cam's out to check out, one larger and one smaller.

For a sporty fun to driver weekend 944 with a 5/6 speed manual, I'd think about something like the well proven Summit Ghost Cam
Stage 1 Pro LS Ghost Cam.
222/234 115+3, .600/.575 Lift