Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What would you do?

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2022, 12:21 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What would you do?

First post, believe I am posting in the right area, apologies if I am not.

Need some help on which way to go, complete newb here - this will be a duly driver for me 2-3x a week.

I picked up a ‘68 C10 that has a LS swap from a 2001 Tahoe - he used everything from that vehicle. Engine, tranny, driveshaft and rear end (he did upgrade the gears to 3.73 with LSD, think it is a 10 bolt from that research I can find), etc.

My research says it is a LM7 iron block rated at 285hp stock (I assume to the fly). I would like to wake this up and get 400whp maybe 500whp downline. I believe the 4L60e with a cooler, shift kit, servo and converter with hold that power (might be a gamble, but I am okay pushing that some for price point). I may need to update the stock radiator too?l (not sure there)??

I have been talking with a tuner with a good reputation in the Temple, TX area.

He is pushing the single turbo with an intercooler to get me where I want to be. I haven’t seen a quote yet, but he says his supplier was offering a 76mm turbo and intercooler for like $1K. Reading forums, it looks like I will need new studs, intake gasket, harden push rods, a westgate, possibly a cam and injectors.

I have looked at NA builds online - cam, heads, intake, headers will probably get me to where I was shooting for too.

I assume the costs would be pretty similar. Both seem pretty reliable since the turbo would be are pretty low boost for those numbers from what I can see.

Any suggestions from the members here on which way you would go? Anything else I am missing?

Thanks in advance for suggestions.
Old 11-27-2022, 01:22 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1,444 Likes on 1,002 Posts