Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

T-Rex and Ported Heads

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2004, 10:09 PM
Super Hulk Smash

Received 138 Likes on 115 Posts

Default T-Rex and Ported Heads

Hi, I'm a newb to the forums but I've searched for results on the T-Rex cam with ported heads on a stock shortblock and haven't found much. So, I have a couple of questions about what I'm considering.

I want a pair of heads that have high compression, but don't require milling, because of PtV clearance issues with the T-Rex. Also, I'll be installing all of this myself, and I can flycut the pistons if I have to, but I don't want to resurface deck for the intake manifold. Anyway, two heads that seem to fit the bill for my needs are the TEA Stage 3 5.3L Heads (I believe 10.9:1 CR, and it flows 320cfm and 276!) and the Patriot Stage 2 LS6 Style Heads with 59cc welded chambers (11.5:1 CR and 304cfm and 229).

The TEA heads flow better on the top end, but it has lower compression, and large valves, 2.055" and 1.6, which will probably require some flycutting. The Patriot heads have a higher compression, better low and midrange flownumbers, smaller valves that probably won't require flycutting, but not the same topend flow.

Price is somewhat of a concern, with the TEA heads with Comp 921 springs, which I can easily replace after the T-Rex wears them out, should run over $2500 with 5.3L cores. The Patriot heads with the Patriot Gold Dual Springs are $1795 from TSP. However, I'm wanting to go with the head that will augment the T-Rex the best.