Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

any help much appreciated!!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2005, 02:50 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile any help much appreciated!!!

hey guys ive been reading posts on this site for a long time and has helped me alot. im new to making a post and all help is appreciated.. ok so heres my problem. i have a 98 6 speed z28, i bought it in august its my 2nd ls1 crashed the first ne way i started really getting into modding this one but as i was bringin it into the shop to have the clutch installed i took my friend who has a muttstang for a ride and i did the infamous miss shift from 3rd into 2nd and now somethings knocking think its a lifter. my brothers helping me with everything because hes been bulding cars for years and knows more then me. my question or rather his question is whats the best way to get the engine out with out a lift, where gunna do it in his 2 car garage. im going to rebuild the whole ls1 while its out i already bought the patriot stage 2 head and cam package but i still need everything any suggestions on a good site for prices on a ls1 rebuild kit will help to... this is my first post i hope i did everything rite thanks guy.....
Old 01-12-2005, 03:51 AM
Deranged Rat Fink

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Unbolt the the K-member and bring it out from the bottom of the car.
Old 01-13-2005, 07:07 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Why are you pulling the motor?? Unless you're going forged, stroking it, or it is very high mileage, why don't you just fix what's broke? Just my .02.
Old 01-13-2005, 07:11 PM
9 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

no need to pull the motor....I got money that says all you did was manually over-revved the motor, and bent a few pushrods.....just pull the valve covers and inspect your pushrods, and valvetrain....

Hell, you can replace the lifters in a weekend...
Old 01-13-2005, 08:31 PM
TECH Addict

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts