Sponsored by:

Cam for me

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2002, 06:43 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam for me

I have a stock 2002 Camaro SS M6.
With just basic SLP options (lid catback etc)
My goal is to make an 11 second pass. I live in Pittsburgh, so we have emissions testing, so I need to keep it emissions legal.

I've been currently leaning toward the TR224 cam, but have a few questions.

I know the internal workings of engines very well, I've never done a cam swap before. Although my buddy who has, says it shouldnt be much of a problem. Will this be to much of a task for us to do?

I have no plans for changing the heads as of right now, what ballpark numbers should I expect? Any type of tuning really involved? If so, with what type of devices (or just typical dyno tuning?). Anything else really needed to do with this swap?

And the last thing, in your honest opinion, will this cam pass emissions testing?
Old 11-19-2002, 08:51 AM
TECH Apprentice

Default Re: Cam for me

The TR 224 should squeak by on emissions testing, but you might need some PCM tweaks to get a decent idle.

To make decent power with that cam you will need headers, IMHO. 400 RWHP is within reach.
Old 11-19-2002, 09:25 AM
Teching In

Tom on the external board pretty much sold me on the FLP LTs, but you feel the TR224 will pass with minor tuning? Are there any similar cams, that are pretty much a sure thing?
Old 11-20-2002, 04:22 PM
Teching In