Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

H/C Job on the Cheap?

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2007, 11:49 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question H/C Job on the Cheap?

Im trying to do a H/C job as cheap as possible, trying to see what parts can be re-used in the swapover. I've got a set of LS2 243 casting heads as a starter. I haven't decided on the cam yet, but want to go ahead and buy springs, lifters, rods, gaskets, head bolts, etc. My question is what can I reuse out of my 2001 LS1 motor? Are new lifters a good idea? Can i reuse the head bolts? Im new to this but looking for some help. I will definitely be getting some help on the swap and then the required tune.
Ed
Old 05-02-2007, 12:01 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

cant reuse the head bolts... no no... im currently doing this swap myself.

you need the following:

New head gaskets (GM MLS are the cheapest and MUCH better than stock)

New water pump gaskets (x2)

New timing cover gasket (1)

New oil pump O ring... or new oil pump (depends on how many miles you have)

New timing cover hub gasket

Exhaust manifold gaskets (x2)

New crank bolt (a 120mm length) (x1)

coolant line vent gaskets (x 4)

Head bolt kit (x2)

you might also possibly need new intake manifold gaskets (come in a set of 8, buy the felpro ones from summit), i dont think you need new lifters, or rockers, or pushrods, although pushrods maybe needed depending the cam you choose. I would also say change your timing chain

dont forget... you need:

Oil
Oil Filter
Coolant
some RTV gasket maker
renting a power steering pulley puller
renting the 3 arm jaw puller for the crank pulley
a 24mm socket for the crank pulley bolt
a LONG breaker bar

this is pretty much what you need... you're going to spend about 4-500$ in parts, gaskets, fluids.. ect... not cheap really..

you can reuse all other bolts (timing cover bolts, intake bolts, water pump bolts, ect)