Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Explain forged..

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2007, 01:32 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Explain forged..

What exactly is it? I understand people go with it for FI motors, but why? I just picked up a 75% complete turbo set-up and am planning on having the install donen sometime around summer-fall 08. Is this something I should seriously think about doing before or during the install? And if so, how much in "parts" does this typically cost?

Thanks,
Ryan
Old 12-23-2007, 02:18 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

In laymans terms (I am not an engineer) forged parts are simply stronger and can stand up to greater force applied to them from F/I and hardcore race setups. The parts themselves are not "cast" in a mold but are "machined" down from a larger solid piece of steel, aluminum etc.. (making them stronger). This is a more expensive way to manufacture a part but the end product is much stonger and can stand up to much more stress and be more reliable in certain applications (ie.. supercharged, turbo and nitrous). I am sure you will get a much better answer than this from others much more knowledgable than I, but the gist is forged parts are simply stronger than cast parts and are necessary for reliability in certain instances.
Old 12-23-2007, 03:22 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts